[QFi/Armchair Opinion] I think the A330s are the best recovery strategy for QFi in Asia.

8 replies

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,285

[QFi/Armchair Opinion] I think the A330s are the best recovery strategy for QFi in Asia.

They have scale - around thirty of the two types - and they will have the use for them, in Asia as well as domestically. They have the facility to maintain them - it's in BNE - and they can always buy newer, more efficient ones soon.

I think QFi needs to make a renewed push into Asia with better products, better timings and better frequency. A fleet of refurbished A330s should be the key that unlocks this opportunity to improve its standing and tap into the growth of the Asia Century, as well as provide a "heavy mover" for some domestic runs.

I know this is all very high-level, but I think a more conservative approach utilising effective, efficient but not necessarily cutting-edge aircraft is in order. I won't delve into the minutiae unless we do end up going down that path on this thread.

These aircraft already exist in their fleets. They need only be refurbished and put into action - and this can help bring QFi forward into the 787-9 era.

Or an era of even better A330s if you prefer.

qfflyer

Member since 26 May 2012

Total posts 131

Agreed watson374

CL9

Member since 22 Mar 2012

Total posts 85

+1

reno

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 20 Sep 2013

Total posts 316

Why waste more money in Asia other than HKG.They faied with Australia Asia in the 90,s,Jetstar more recently.Not only that lack people with the necessary skills to run an airline in this area of the world.The could make more money using an A330 thu HNL an on to SFO. 

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,285

There is more potential for great success in Asia. Shanghai is still a grossly under-utilised gateway into China, for starters, and Singapore will always be an anchor.

It is precisely this attitude of "it's too hard, let's just go to America" that has destroyed their Asia network.

CL9

Member since 22 Mar 2012

Total posts 85

You're  saying JQ into Asia was a failure? Most definitely not.

ffh

Cathay Pacific - The Marco Polo Club

Member since 09 Oct 2013

Total posts 5

As somebody mentioned QF-EK partnerships makes QF as a domestic carriers only as EK relies QF to its Australian cities although saying QF relies EK to its European networks BUT at least a lot of Y class paxs were downgraded to a 3-4-3 B777 and lots of red-eye connections via DXB. Drawing lots of loyal QF fans to EK as QF do not have lots of International destination than EK.

Don't know why Qantas put too much on Singapore after QF decided to work with Emirates but still want to do something on its own in SIN without its previous partner BA. Re-timing all Asian connection cities such as BKK, HKG, SIN. Leaving BA to codeshares with other carriers...see, BA codeshare with CX from HKG to ADL, BNE, MEL, PER, SYD... One side loosing International paxs, domestics loosing to Virgin Australia which own by NZ, SQ and EY. See NZ used to have HKG-LHR like QF did. NZ can codeshare CX on its AKL route. Why not QF remains its partnership with BA so that it can still have previous codeshare with AF, HKG-CDG and with CX, HKG-FCO. Also one-stop to Europe... at least Australia to HKG sectors are QF's own metal and revenues...

I feel warm to get a message from QFF, however, attract their loyal customers, like WATSONS374 said, better timing, better frequencies. Why QF cancelled their HKG-LHR service while VS cancelled their HKG-SYD BUT keep their HKG-LHR service? Is that a sign of wrong timing? or QF thinking too much on SYD instead of other Australian cities?

Serg

QFF

Member since 12 Apr 2013

Total posts 870

Better timing, better frequency, better service newer planes = more money. They struggle to balance their sheets, and you suggest spend more. It is still possible by having loans or state support, but they have neither – “junk” company without state support.

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,285

Why? Because they have the cash balance to spend money to dig themselves out of the hole. If they just contract and contract, they will contract into nothing.

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on [QFi/Armchair Opinion] I think the A330s are the best recovery strategy for QFi in Asia.

Attach Files