Could users give their opinion regarding QFF vs other One World FF program that would benefit aussies in terms of redemption and achieving higher status if you flew qantas in the d

8 replies

mspcooper

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 09 May 2013

Total posts 342

Could users give their opinion regarding QFF vs other One World FF program that would benefit aussies in terms of redemption and achieving higher status if you flew qantas in the domestic sector (but not enough to achieve Platinum?

mspcooper

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 09 May 2013

Total posts 342

Please ignore my question. Seems like there are two other questions and the answers on those are what i was expecting to hear for this question. 

Apologies

spinoza

Member since 01 Feb 2012

Total posts 218

It is interesting that everyone is asking that question right now given recent developments.

tabs

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 09 May 2013

Total posts 46

A little off topic... But...

Since QF's announcement the other day, I started looking into the Velocity program. Someone please correct me if I am wrong but from the research I've done, Velocity absolutely smashes QF FF every day of the week in terms of earning points. Here's what I did...QF FF requires 300 status credits to reach Silver, Velocity just 250. SYD-LHR on QF on a discount economy fare earns 60 SC with the current rates. Booking the same route through the VA website on a SQ codeshare on a full economy fare earns 140 SC (the trip is on two flight numbers, so you earn credits per sector). I chose a random date to compare fares and VA's full economy fare was the same price as QF's cheap economy fare. With this in mind, you could reach silver status on Velocity with a return trip in economy to LHR... If this is the case, I will definitely make the switch to Velocity. 

trevor

Member since 22 Jun 2013

Total posts 90

But then one needs to ask why it is easier to get to Velocity Silver. Is it inferior to Qantas silver? Are the benefits as good as Qantas silver?

tabs

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 09 May 2013

Total posts 46

Looks to be all the same - ie extra baggage, advanced seat selection, priority waitlist and check-in etc.

Gold and Platinum are also easier to reach than QF. While QF's domestic lounges are far superior, as are their international lounges in Sydney (although SQ's lounge is pretty decent), Velocity has a few extra perks for Platinum such as four complimentary upgrades to J on domestic flights. 

shragi

QF - Red

Member since 23 Nov 2012

Total posts 12

Just keep in mind that with velocity you are very limited in international destinations and airlines. Status in oneworld would trump velocity any day of the week.

tabs

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 09 May 2013

Total posts 46

I tend to disagree. The only real area Velocity is lacking is South America. EY covers Europe, Middle East and Africa, SQ covers Asia and Europe, DL and VX cover North America, VA and NZ cover Tasman/Pacific. The only real blank spot is South America - QF and OneWorld you can go through SCL and TAM's intro will only help this, Velocity will require you go through LAX and connect onto a DL flight which makes the trip much longer. 

trevor

Member since 22 Jun 2013

Total posts 90

Interesting to hear!

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Could users give their opinion regarding QFF vs other One World FF program that would benefit aussies in terms of redemption and achieving higher status if you flew qantas in the d

Attach Files