How many of you fine people make a decision to actually fly an airline based on a review by a journalist or any person who flew courtesy of that airline?

16 replies

reno

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 20 Sep 2013

Total posts 316

How many of you fine people make a decision to actually fly an airline based on a review by a journalist or any person who flew courtesy of that airline?

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,285

One cannot make a decision based solely upon a single data point. One must compare and contrast the experience of others, measure it up against one's own experiences, and decide accordingly.

tabs

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 09 May 2013

Total posts 46

I usually read a variety of reviews before deciding on which airline to take. These range from AusBT journalist reviews, passenger reviews on SkyTrax, cabin pictures from Airliners.net, and word of mouth from people I know who've flown with said airline. 

charlieg

QantasFF Platinum

Member since 16 Feb 2012

Total posts 133

It certainly helps to see what is available 'behind-the-scenes' with additional privileges given to courtesy passengers, and allows fine people like yourself and others to enjoy these benefits when next you do chose to fly.

As the airlines say, 'we realise you have a choice...', but the decisions on who to fly on, are  actually made on VALUE, and this takes into account many, many factors including flight times, loyalty, and reviews (which is greatly appreciated)

johnaboxall

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 24 Aug 2011

Total posts 384

They're interesting to see the hard product (if real photos are available and not press shots), otherwise I don't take any other variables into account. Prefer to read reviews on FT, AFF etc where several individual people can share experiences. 

airADL

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 25 Mar 2014

Total posts 198

Being they seem to review the latest upgraded airline aircaft I find it nice to see reviews of all classes available, services, entertainment, comfort etc etc.

Whether it is affordable to me or even available to me; I would then consider the airline based on the review.

I would not base my decision based on one solo review.

Chris_PER

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 19 Feb 2014

Total posts 90

Yeah despite SkyTrax being corrupt to the teeth, the passenger reviews are mostly genuine, so I like to use that.

TheRealBabushka

Member since 21 Apr 2012

Total posts 2,059

Robert, what is the subtext of your question? I think that is far more interesting ;)

johnaboxall

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 24 Aug 2011

Total posts 384

VA domestic J flight reviews vs. actual paying passenger experience is always an interesting contrast. 

Doubleplatinum Banned

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer Platinum

Member since 07 Feb 2013

Total posts 431

Exactly

Hugo

Member since 12 Jun 2013

Total posts 216

I'm sure I would never consciously do so. However, everything I read  or hear about an airline will no doubt get squished together in my brain to create the general impression I have of that airline long after I've forgotten about any individual article I've read, and there's ain't a goddamn thing I can do about it. 

Doubleplatinum Banned

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer Platinum

Member since 07 Feb 2013

Total posts 431

Never, particularly not when they fly courtesy of the airline.

TheRealBabushka

Member since 21 Apr 2012

Total posts 2,059

There was an article in The Age today about the review of the SYD/DFW in Business courtesy of Qantas. It was a tad nauseating how uncritical the review was. It comes across very amateurish and certainly targeted to a certain demographic.

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,285

Eurgh, I saw the same article in the SMH. QF J is usually pretty good, but that was indeed nauseating.

reno

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 20 Sep 2013

Total posts 316

Well done i am impressed.

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on How many of you fine people make a decision to actually fly an airline based on a review by a journalist or any person who flew courtesy of that airline?

Attach Files