Best economy class, in your opinion?

9 replies

074061

Cathay Pacific - Asia Miles

Member since 25 Apr 2013

Total posts 262

Best economy class, in your opinion? I've asked a lot about business class and I want to ask about Economy class.

It would be helpful, especially if you mention airlines revolving around Hong Kong.

Serg

QFF

Member since 12 Apr 2013

Total posts 872

All cattle class is pretty crap once you experience business, but in SE Asia I would mark Singapore Airlines.

Andy B

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 20 Aug 2013

Total posts 22

We Flew Cathay Pacific on a School Trip to Japan in April, we the new economy on 3 flights and the old one on one of them (HKG-KIX) but I have heared that all their A330s have since been upgraded. It was a good experience and the food was among the best I have had in Economy, the seats are still economy seats but they are better than what I have experienced on Qantas and Emirates and the IFE has recent movies and TV shows which is good. I wouldn't expect to get much sleep though.

074061

Cathay Pacific - Asia Miles

Member since 25 Apr 2013

Total posts 262

Ah. I love Cathay Pacific's new seats though not so the shell seats. Qantas, Emirates and the new British Airways look good, as well as the aptly named "Sky Wider" Japan Airlines new seats. Singapore Airlines is good, but look a little too "beige" - as John Walton said in a review about Etihad, beige isn't especially inspiring. Thumbs up to Singapore Airlines' new Next Generation economy seat, and thumbs down to British Airways' old economy class and Ryanair's new standing seats (they may be a nightmare come true - who knows?).

LR

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 28 May 2012

Total posts 17

I think when all of the following are considered, value / comfort / seat pitch / baggage / meal / drinks / entertainment and service my winners time and time again are SQ and TG. As for HKG I dont really like the new shell seat that CX offer.

hutch

Member since 07 Oct 2012

Total posts 762

I thought the shell seat was CX's old seat?

074061

Cathay Pacific - Asia Miles

Member since 25 Apr 2013

Total posts 262

Indeed, it is the old seat. LR - the new seat is available on all Australian routes, including Melbourne.

LR

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 28 May 2012

Total posts 17

I stand corrected, I havent flown CX in a while.  

chrisjrn

Member since 09 May 2011

Total posts 177

Singapore Airlines. Hands down. Range of food and drinks on par with a lot of domestic business class flights. Seats are comfortable. Wide. Good legroom. Foot rests. Amenity kits, with dental kit. Upstairs on the A380.

Basically, better than any seat on many American domestic airlines.

eminere

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 25 Sep 2013

Total posts 370

Singapore Airlines. 

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Best economy class, in your opinion?

Attach Files