Opinions, thoughts, experiences on Malaysian Airlines Business Class?

12 replies

Ol647

Member since 09 Aug 2012

Total posts 21

Opinions, thoughts, experiences on Malaysian Airlines Business Class?

FrequentFlyer

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 20 Mar 2012

Total posts 191

I found their seat pretty average, it's not a fully lie flat although it's fairly comfortable, a fairly standard international business product. The lounges weren't anything special either but served their purpose. Their onboard service however is very good. It's the fastest way to get to KL if that's where you're heading. The fares are never too high either, worth a go if you get a good deal, you earn QF points too.

Merc25

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 29 Jun 2013

Total posts 317

Malaysian Airlines has great service in buisiness class and the FA are very attenditive and helpfull.however their lounges are average and in KL alcohol is hard to find and hidden away at the end in a small display,basically because it is a Moslem nation .this said it is better than average to fly buisiness class with

074061

Cathay Pacific - Asia Miles

Member since 25 Apr 2013

Total posts 262

I have heard that MH has a fully flat bed apart from a little angle at the bottom under the knee (like LH old business except the top part is horizontal to the cabin floor), but I stand corrected.

TheRealBabushka

Member since 21 Apr 2012

Total posts 2,060

MH Business Class is very reasonable if you get a decently priced ticket and, fromAustralia fly on their A330.

I find the seat, although angled flat, to be quite good. They use the Recaro seats used on AA's 777-200 and 767-300. You can comfortable sleep in that seat unlike TG's angled flat seats.

Entertainment is not too bad, with a large ample screen unlike the QF A330 with sky bed mark 1. Content is decent. A nice selection of older "classic" films and a decent classical music selection.

Service is quite good; prompt, attentive and adequately chatty.

Food, with the exception of their satay is very 90s. Edible but not inspiring. Very very average. I'd be bored on a long haul to Europe but for the short hop to Asia, it would suffice.

Their lounges, as commented by others is also very very average. Use the Qantas lounges from Australia and get a good book if you have a long transit in KL. If you're doing an early morning transit in KUL, get food and coffee from the Starbucks at KLIA - but tell the barista not to drown your espresso in milk!

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,293

The food in KLIA is pretty dire, but I wasn't aware that the standards have fallen so low that you'd resort to Starbucks (which in Malaysia has the status of Chatime plus some - basically a place for rich teenagers to show off their new smartphones and their ability to splash on bad American coffee).

OP: What flights are you planning to take? MH is quite good overall, but they're not the best. They're obviously a first pick if you actually want to fly into KUL, but they might not be the best pick for a particular combination, e.g. Sydney to Penang, where ironically they have the worst schedules.

TheRealBabushka

Member since 21 Apr 2012

Total posts 2,060

Starbucks espresso is not bad perse. Their beans are of relatively high quality. What kills it is the excessive milk in their cappuccino and latte.

It's just an Australian thing to knock Starbucks cos they're a chain.

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,293

Actually no, in Malaysia the milk is not only used excessively but the quality of the milk is poor; it's watery compared to milk in Australia. The other thing is that, in Malaysia at least, the barista skill is nowhere near what we have back in Australia, skill or no.

I lived there for about ten years in total. I'm currently in Malaysia on holiday. Just have a local kopi or teh tarik :D

hutch

Member since 07 Oct 2012

Total posts 762

I love starbucks... shoot me.

PeterLoh

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 25 May 2012

Total posts 356

It's a comfortable way of getting to your destination, but don't expect service to the standards that Cathay Pacific, Emirates, Etihad and Qantas offer.

On long haul flights, I'd recommend using the chef on call facility to pre-book your meal if it's available for your route. Most of their long haul fleet have angled lie flat beds in business, with the exception of their A380s. In KL their First Class lounge is quite nice if you hold oneworld Emerald status, otherwise their Business class lounge can get quite crowded at times.

mr_pb

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 01 Oct 2013

Total posts 31

Personally haven't flown MH but all the people that have flown MH J that I've talked to (read: two aquaintances) they've all raved about one thing: satay!

If the 'second-tier'ness of MH does throw you off, which isn't necessarily a bad thing as apparently they're great for the price, EK does offer a direct MEL-KUL option on their 773s. Good luck!

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,293

They are good for the price, yes; they've come a long way, but they're still not as good as SQ or CX. But they are good - just not the very first.

They've come a long way from the dark days of MAS standing for Mana Ada Sistem, which translates from Malay to English as 'What System?' :P

wozcor1

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 28 Jul 2013

Total posts 91

We flew MH for Xmas last year from MEL-BKK paying $2500ea business class. Yes seats do not fully recline and seats were old, but for the cost of the fare, its fine if you want to sleep overnight. Its comfortable, I booked chef on call and meal was fine. Plenty of service and food so you don't go hungry. Yes it would be nice to see upgraded seats on board.. It is very tired but happy to fly again for the fare savings!

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Opinions, thoughts, experiences on Malaysian Airlines Business Class?

Attach Files