Review: London's Heathrow Express

By David Flynn, June 25 2014

The Heathrow Express isn't the cheapest way to get from London's Heathrow Airport into the city, but it's the fastest and is wonderfully hassle-free.

The trip from Heathrow to Paddington station takes about 15 minutes, with trains running every 15 minutes. There's one station at Heathrow's T5 terminal for British Airways flights; another for the T1, T2 and T3 terminal trio, and from there a connection to T4.

And once you leave Heathrow it’s a straight run through to Paddington station for connecting to both regional and city underground lines.

Although you can purchase Heathrow Express tickets on board the train it’s cheaper to buy them on arrival at the airport’s
Heathrow Express ticket counter...

... or head to one of the ticket machines if there's a queu at the desk.

Note that the popular Oyster cards can't be used on the Heathrow Express.

Read: Travelling to London? Grab an Oyster Card for the Tube and buses

A one-way ticket in the economy Express carriages costs £21 (A$38), or £34 (A$62) with a return ticket that's valid for three months. Each of those tickets cost an extra £5 if bought on the train.

The carriages are modern, quiet and comfortable.

And as you'd expect, each carriage has dedicated areas to store your luggage.

The Heathrow Express also includes several swish 'Business First' carriages.

These boast a slightly wider seat with more legroom, and arranged in a 1-1 layout.

But at £29 for a single trip and £52 for a return ticket, we’re hard-pressed to see the value over the short span of a 15 minute trip.

The standard carriages have ample leg room, as long as nobody is crammed in front of you.

There are also AC and USB power sockets to give your laptop, phone or tablet a quick top-up.

On the train there’s free WiFi so you can grab your email or check your hotel booking.

But before you know it, you're pulling into Paddington station where the Heathrow Express runs from platforms 6 and 7.

If you walk straight ahead you'll find the entrance to the Paddington Underground station. This covers several Tube lines including the Bakerloo, Circle, District and Hammersmith & City lines.

Alternatively, turn left after the Great Western Rail information booth and veer right up the roadway ramp – just look for the line of smokers flaking left and right of the road – onto Praed Street to catch a taxi.

Paddington also boasts several handily-located hotels including the Hotel Indigo (my favourite boutique bolt-hole in London), the Hilton and the Mercure.

If you’re just breaking a long stopover in London with a day-trip to the city, consider hopping a bus from the Praed Street stop – it's to your left, just past the Mercure Hotel and McDonalds.

I find the #7 and #23 services are most useful for heading into the very heart of the city. One tap of your Oxyter card and you're away.

Follow Australian Business Traveller on Twitter: we're @AusBT

David

David Flynn is the Editor-in-Chief of Executive Traveller and a bit of a travel tragic with a weakness for good coffee, shopping and lychee martinis.

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

18 Jun 2013

Total posts 28

Thanks for the hnady review, agrees with my perception of the heathrow Express. I'd also recommend the Hotel Indigo, always had great service there. The Mercure is fine too. Either make a handy London location especially if you have day or business trips to Oxford or West incl southern Wales. 

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

06 May 2012

Total posts 169

Nice review David, Will be using the train in a few weeks

Can I suggest your try Heathrow Connect?

Its a similar service but one that is not marketed to non-locals. 

Its considerably cheaper but takes slightly longer (it stops at a few more stations). 

Heathrow Express cost GBP 21.00 one way. Heathrow Connect cost only GBP 9.90 one way (53% cheaper)

As advertised, it takes 15 mins on Heathrow Express and 26 mins on Heathrow Connect. (42% longer).

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

06 May 2012

Total posts 169

Thanks TheRealBabushka for the information

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

19 Jul 2012

Total posts 35

Also worth noting the Heathrow Connect only runs every 30 mins and then only between Heathrow Central and Paddington (with intermediate stops). Access to and from T4 and T5 is still free via the Heathrow Express.

09 Jul 2012

Total posts 27

TRB, Are there also luggage racks on Heathrow Connect and also, is it generally crowded from Heathrow terminals? I've only ever used Heathrow Express, and loads never seem more than 50% whenever I've used it.

There are luggage racks on Heathrow Connect, at least the last time I used it.

I find that it doesn't get too crowded, although not as sparse as Heathrow Express.

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

17 Aug 2012

Total posts 2221

I dare all of you to use the Piccadilly Line.

26 May 2012

Total posts 150

I did! What a laugh it was. 

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

07 Mar 2013

Total posts 61

I may have made that mistake.

Qantas - QFF Platinum

20 Mar 2012

Total posts 213

Worth noting that the first service on Sundays is at about 6.30am (well it was when I was there in March this year) therefore you will have to find alternatives if you get there for your 7.30am flight at 5.45am.... A 75 pound black cab later and all was resolved.

BA Gold

01 Apr 2012

Total posts 151

I use the Heathrow Express weekly and have generally found it provides the most stress free journey to the airport.

However....the past two or three months i've had several poor experiences on the service mainly down to prolonged industrial action by the Heathrow Express drivers. Their industrial action is sporadic and is usually over a couple different dates each month.  The service operates a reduced service during these days and some trains that should go to T5 are re-routed to T4 - in one case I experienced recently without notification which was a nightmare.

Before using the service make sure you check the 'service update' on their website.

BA Gold

01 Apr 2012

Total posts 151

Also a quick tip if you are rushing for the train and don't have time to buy a (cheaper) ticket before boarding.  When you jump on the train use your smartphone to log onto the heathrow express website using the free wifi and buy your ticket online which is at the cheaper rate.  It's a very quick process and takes seconds from the mobile website or app.

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

23 Mar 2012

Total posts 210

I like the Heathrow Express. Sometimes like to take the slowww train (aka Piccadilly Line) into town for something different. Agree that the Hotel Indigo at Paddington is great. The one at Earls Court isn't to bad either. 

Amazing that the local rail line to Heathrow (Piccadilly) doesn't cost any more than the regular tube price, unlike the extortionate amount charged by the rubbish the Sydney airport link. 

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

06 May 2012

Total posts 169

Exactly mitchimus, Its such a price difference in Sydney

28 Jun 2014

Total posts 1

HX may indeed not be the cheapest way fro LHR into London, but at least passengers have a choice, unlike at SYD. Moreover, the cost of catching the ordinary commuter train from SYD into the CBD works out more per km than HX! I have never come across a major airport anywhere in the world where passengers are forced to pay a 400% premium for a non-premium service and where no cheaper alternative is provided. I am astonished that the NSW government/TfNSW has allowed the airport operator at SYD to get away with such daylight robbery. 


Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Review: London's Heathrow Express