Qantas Staus reviews - Has any fellow traveller been just short of a status cut off.

8 replies

Tezza

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 12 Jan 2013

Total posts 40

Qantas Staus reviews - Has any fellow traveller been just short of a status cut off. I am about 300 SC off retaining plat for another year.. I have about 200 SC worth of flights before my renewal date. Do you think qantas will let me keep my plat for another year?

spinoza

Member since 01 Feb 2012

Total posts 218

How many years have you been platinum? Do you have travel booked just after the cut off date that would have gotten you over the line?

In my experience, and from what I have heard, if the shortfall is less than 100 and you have been a member for more than 1 year, and especially if you already have more travel booked not long after the cut off date, you have a very good chance, though YMMV.

iFLYflat

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 20 Nov 2012

Total posts 40

For me, I was just 10SC short of renewing Silver, the system will automatically revert you down.

But you need to call up the service centre and state your case.

I had to do so twice, on the second occasion they got a supervisor to review it and granted it to me. It sounded like you need to have met the minimum QF sectors travelled as in the min requirement for them to offer renewal.

But I don't really care as much these days as I get comp Cathay Gold from my AMEX card, got American Platinum from a status match, and now regularly fly on First and Business from my new business venture.

Summary - the system will bump you (so dont take that personally), but speak to people and they will consider and manually fix you up.

Tezza

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 12 Jan 2013

Total posts 40

Thanks for this.... I have been plat for 1 year,gold the year before, Yeh i do have travel booked after the cut off date. Can you please define YMMV

Tezza

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 12 Jan 2013

Total posts 40

Hi Steve

Thanks for this mate. I travel mostly domestically so I guess its not too much of a hassel, It just sucks if you miss out so close to the cutoff.

Thanks again. Fingers crossed.

TheRealBabushka

Member since 21 Apr 2012

Total posts 2,059

 

100 Status Credits

40 SC + 40 SC: Fly return SYD/PER in economy (not discount economy) on a weekend. When you get to Perth, catch up with a colleague/client, have a meeting and minute it. Ergo, flight and expenses is tax deductible.

10 SC + 10 SC: Fly return SYD/MEL in discount economy on another weekend. You'll be about $300 out of pocket. It will be cheaper than excess baggage cost you would have otherwise incurred if you're only Gold.

Disclaimer: Always consult a tax agent for any specific taxation advice and arrangement.

moa999

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 02 Jul 2011

Total posts 835

YMMV.

Some speculate Qantas has a 3-yr average rule, others that it depends on how compeitive things are at the time.

The one thing you can count on is that the levels are clearly stated, if you don't reach them, you shouldn't complain about being knocked down a peg.

A number of years ago was renewed Plat with 120 SCs (I had done 2,000 + the prior two years)

Skipp

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 20 Aug 2012

Total posts 35

Tessa, YMMV stands for 'Your Mileage May Vary'.

Tezza

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 12 Jan 2013

Total posts 40

Thanks all ..... not complaining just curious

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Qantas Staus reviews - Has any fellow traveller been just short of a status cut off.

Attach Files