Community

Virgin Australia

Flying on Velocity Review Date

8 Discussions

auslaw

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 16 May 2019

Total posts 4

Has anyone had any experience travelling on the date of their Velocity review date?

I have international flights booked on my review date and am wondering whether they will count towards the previous or upcoming review year? I rang Velocity but got 3 different answers. Their final verdict was that it would count for both years, but I am wondering if anyone could please share their experiences with this?

Thanks!

jch

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 15 Nov 2017

Total posts 142

I think when I asked the answer was previous period but don't have experience on the flying in that day. Just moved a flight from one day before to one day after my review date in June.

Top gun

Member since 18 Jul 2018

Total posts 1

Im not sure if the same issue but if you fly between your review date and the new status date - normally about five days - any status credits earned in these 5 days go into a black hole and count for nothing - effectively you get points and nothing else counts. I earned 120 status credits during my review period and they were not carried into the new period.

jch

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 15 Nov 2017

Total posts 142

Well I'm doing my DSC status run about 3 days after my review date so they better count for the next period! ;)
Last editedby jch at May 26, 2019, 09:54 PM.

auslaw

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 16 May 2019

Total posts 4

I guess it's a matter of 'wait and see what happens' then! Thanks for the help :)

jlu

Etihad - Etihad Guest

Member since 28 May 2019

Total posts 1

Hi there. I've flown on my VA review date twice. Can confirm that they will count towards both old and new years.

auslaw

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 16 May 2019

Total posts 4

Hi there. I've flown on my VA review date twice. Can confirm that they will count towards both old and new years.

Amazing! Thank you so much! That is definitely a relief as I will be earning a significant number of status credits.

asbindia

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 26 Aug 2013

Total posts 45

My review date is on the 7th of November, I got in touch with VA directly. It will count towards the new year

"In your case, if youre going to take an eligible flight on 07 November 2019, this will count towards your benefit period 2019-2020 in extending your Platinum membership for another 12 months with the benefit period of 2020-2021."

auslaw

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 16 May 2019

Total posts 4

Can confirm the status credits went toward the next benefit period! Very pleased.

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Flying on Velocity Review Date

Attach Files