Qantas London and Singapore lounges - your opinion?

14 replies

Brett77

QF

Member since 25 Feb 2014

Total posts 6

Just sharing some thoughts after a recent trip and thought i would pop this out for discussion.

Travelled LHR-SIN-SYD-CBR-HBA-MEL-SIN-LHR recently and regarding the lounges in London and Singapore i was blown away by the chaos at both.

The QF LHR lounge wasn't just crowded it was literally standing room only, the sofas upstairs at the back of the lounge were being utilised as beds by quite a few people (full shoes and socks off with snoring) so no chance of sitting there with 1 person taking up a full 3 seat sofas each. I did 2 laps of the lounge looking for a seat and couldn't find any. I also found the lounge really bright, stark and noisy and that if i was to 'lounge' in the lounge i would need sunglasses and headphones. So at this point i just walked out and straight next door to the Cathay lounge and damn, what a difference, calm, quiet, dark tones, lovely dining room with killer noodle soups and dim sums made to order, now i fully felt i was 'lounging' in a true lounge. After having dinner and going through to an actual lounge room with a bar and deep sofas i was super chilled and relaxed - isn't this what a lounge is meant to be like? Anyone else had similar experiences in LHR?

The QF SIN lounge was, well, exactly as described above......chaos. So headed to the EK lounge and low and behold, an oasis of calm. Great Dim Sum selections cooked to order (just ask - Set A,B,C are all great) usual free pour bar, lovely dining room, great buffet including some seriously good quality sushi and cheese selections, attentive staff (the chef came out and asked me if i was happy with my meal - cmon!). When i asked for a shower i was stocked up with all amenities by the attendant and couldn't have been happier.

I do acknowledge the the QF lounges in LHR and SIN are newer and fancier than CX/EK but is that the key ingredients to enable and encourage your customers to relax and 'lounge'? as in my opinion a lounge of calm and quality will always win my patronage no matter if there are a few scuffs around the edges.

Well, cheers for reading this - keen to know others thoughts as surely i cant be the only one that really dislikes the QF (LHR/SIN) lounges?

(PS - Im not QF bashing, i fly QF alot and is always my first choice, just offering my experience with the lounges as a discussion point.)

greg959

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 15 May 2019

Total posts 16

I couldn't agree more. I returned on QF2 two weeks ago and was appalled at the quality of the lounges. It seems that someone at QF has decided they can pull off a single lounge strategy (ie for all classes and status, plus QC members and voucher holders) at international ports that service four class products if they have nice decor and a few cocktails / gourmet meals on the menu. They seem to have missed that the lounges are set up to fail to deliver on the basics.

On last week's flight, I went to both lounges with my partner. We were both flying full J fares and are in our early 30s - I am a P and she is P1. We tried to get a meal at LHR but were turned away. We then searched for about 15 minutes for a seat and ultimately had to stand at the upstairs gin bar, which was slammed. It took about 10 minutes to get served and the bartender forgot my partner's drink order. The wifi didn't work (presumably because there were too many people in the lounge). An hour before the flight I tried to have a shower (we'd come from LUX) and was given a buzzer that didn't ring before the flight. Similar deal in SIN - we were only able to find seats next to each other at the end of a long table. Again, I tried to have a shower but there was not enough time. There was an empty "welcome cocktails" trolley on our way in.

They seem to be hedging a bit for First and CL members in that at both locations they have "Reserved" signs and I've seen the staff walk VIPs in and make sure they're seated. The problem is that these devices seem to be used inconsistently. When we were at LHR the waiter seated a couple in their 50s-60s who I could see were holding "QC Silver Ruby" boarding passes. They arrived after my partner and I and we were effectively told by the staff to go away - a bit of a slap in the face for people who are probably contributing $250K+ to their bottom line each year, made more offensive on the basis that we were clearly profiled by the staff based on our age.

Two things about this don't seem to make sense to me:

(1) I don't get why they went with a one class lounge in LHR when they appear to be committed to a 4 class product on the Kangaroo Route. SIN is getting a First Lounge and AJ has indicated the LHR bound Project Sunrise planes will be configured with 4 classes. Why not build a First Lounge in LHR.

(2) I've previously seen SIN and LHR staff letting in people with vouchers. Surely if they are going to have these lounges, QC members and voucher holders shouldn't be allowed in - it seems perverse that members who do long and expensive hours on QF metal are being denied basic services like chairs and showers so that some punter who got vouchers when they signed up for a credit card can enjoy them.

brettmcg89

Member since 12 Nov 2018

Total posts 9

Remember, SIN will have a brand new, dedicated QF F/OWE/Platinum/P1/CL Lounge opened end of October of November. That will be a very positive change.

As for London, I guess QF think that with the plethora of other OW* options available, they don't really need a separate QF F Lounge. As I recall, one of the big motivators to open a LHR Lounge was to provide paying QC members with a decent option when BA and AA changed their access and billing arrangements with QF.

Nick Sydney 64

Etihad - Etihad Guest

Member since 14 Mar 2019

Total posts 7

Snap! And CX is a proverbial oasis. The HK QF lounge is much better as it does not have the same flow of people. Now if only Qantas fly the London route via HK...

Janeblogs

Member since 27 Nov 2016

Total posts 12

Just sharing some thoughts after a recent trip and thought i would pop this out for discussion.

Travelled LHR-SIN-SYD-CBR-HBA-MEL-SIN-LHR recently and regarding the lounges in London and Singapore i was blown away by the chaos at both.

The QF LHR lounge wasn't just crowded it was literally standing room only, the sofas upstairs at the back of the lounge were being utilised as beds by quite a few people (full shoes and socks off with snoring) so no chance of sitting there with 1 person taking up a full 3 seat sofas each. I did 2 laps of the lounge looking for a seat and couldn't find any. I also found the lounge really bright, stark and noisy and that if i was to 'lounge' in the lounge i would need sunglasses and headphones. So at this point i just walked out and straight next door to the Cathay lounge and damn, what a difference, calm, quiet, dark tones, lovely dining room with killer noodle soups and dim sums made to order, now i fully felt i was 'lounging' in a true lounge. After having dinner and going through to an actual lounge room with a bar and deep sofas i was super chilled and relaxed - isn't this what a lounge is meant to be like? Anyone else had similar experiences in LHR?

The QF SIN lounge was, well, exactly as described above......chaos. So headed to the EK lounge and low and behold, an oasis of calm. Great Dim Sum selections cooked to order (just ask - Set A,B,C are all great) usual free pour bar, lovely dining room, great buffet including some seriously good quality sushi and cheese selections, attentive staff (the chef came out and asked me if i was happy with my meal - cmon!). When i asked for a shower i was stocked up with all amenities by the attendant and couldn't have been happier.

I do acknowledge the the QF lounges in LHR and SIN are newer and fancier than CX/EK but is that the key ingredients to enable and encourage your customers to relax and 'lounge'? as in my opinion a lounge of calm and quality will always win my patronage no matter if there are a few scuffs around the edges.

Well, cheers for reading this - keen to know others thoughts as surely i cant be the only one that really dislikes the QF (LHR/SIN) lounges?

(PS - Im not QF bashing, i fly QF alot and is always my first choice, just offering my experience with the lounges as a discussion point.)


Can’t imagine how bad QF lounges will become when they include all the people just earning points on the ground in the proposed new program. I’m a P1 and I agree with Brett77 that in places like Singapore it’s an impossible experience. Even the domestic biz class lounges are mostly a very ordinary experience.

GoPies

Member since 08 Jul 2015

Total posts 4

My wife and I recently flew QF LHR-SIN- SYD. Both full fare Business Class, Iam P and wife is G. We had flown in from FRA and happened to arrive at Qantas lounge at 18 hrs. Were escorted to table and shortly thereafter served by very pleasant lady who took our drink orders then food. The drinks ( gin cocktails) were excellent as was the food. We then went upstairs and found a seat without any problems. Was a little surprised to see a rugby team in shorts tracksuits etc lounging around. Not really in keeping with dress standards but not a big deal.
At SIN we got seats no probs and enjoyed the snacks on hand plus a drink. We were very pleased with the overall experiance and also reckoned that we had one of the best J Class experiences on both legs. Great crew and food / drink.

Himeno

Member since 12 Dec 2012

Total posts 278

I've only been in the LHR lounge twice. Both times prior to non QF oneworld flights. Lounge was at maybe 5-10% capacity.
If you're Platinum or F, go to the CX lounge next door at LHR rather then the QF lounge. Nicer lounge, better food.

At SIN, it's hard during the peak period between 5 and 9pm while the bulk of QF flight pax are around. By 9pm, it starts emptying out with only 2 flights left after 2130.
I normally head into the SIN lounge between opening at 1430 and 1700 for a drink, then head over to the BA lounge during the peak QF time, before heading back to QF once the peak starts to drop.

hutch

Member since 07 Oct 2012

Total posts 749

I've only been in the LHR lounge twice. Both times prior to non QF oneworld flights. Lounge was at maybe 5-10% capacity.
If you're Platinum or F, go to the CX lounge next door at LHR rather then the QF lounge. Nicer lounge, better food.

At SIN, it's hard during the peak period between 5 and 9pm while the bulk of QF flight pax are around. By 9pm, it starts emptying out with only 2 flights left after 2130.
I normally head into the SIN lounge between opening at 1430 and 1700 for a drink, then head over to the BA lounge during the peak QF time, before heading back to QF once the peak starts to drop.

I think that should be the status quo for Qantas - direct it's Plats and First pax to Cathay First lounge at Heathrow.

Hopefully the Singapore situation improves later in the year once the F lounge opens.

All my experiences in these lounges have been pleasant. Though I'm not flying first and hence my expectations are lower.

greg959

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 15 May 2019

Total posts 16

I've only been in the LHR lounge twice. Both times prior to non QF oneworld flights. Lounge was at maybe 5-10% capacity.
If you're Platinum or F, go to the CX lounge next door at LHR rather then the QF lounge. Nicer lounge, better food.

At SIN, it's hard during the peak period between 5 and 9pm while the bulk of QF flight pax are around. By 9pm, it starts emptying out with only 2 flights left after 2130.
I normally head into the SIN lounge between opening at 1430 and 1700 for a drink, then head over to the BA lounge during the peak QF time, before heading back to QF once the peak starts to drop.

I think that should be the status quo for Qantas - direct it's Plats and First pax to Cathay First lounge at Heathrow.

Hopefully the Singapore situation improves later in the year once the F lounge opens.

All my experiences in these lounges have been pleasant. Though I'm not flying first and hence my expectations are lower.


I agree. They should make arrangements with CX and explicitly redirect at check in / bag drop to avoid the inevitable passive aggressive conversation with the staff at the other Oneworld lounge.

It’s a pain point for customers to have to engage in the same conversation along the following lines every time they fly from LHR and try to use the CX lounge:

“Sir/Madam, do you realise that there’s actually a Qantas Lounge - why don’t you go there?”

“Well actually I’m entitled to use this lounge based on my OWE status and TBH the Qantas Lounge sucks because it’s full of Bundy swilling QC members and I can’t get meal there even though I do 6 J SYD-LHR fares a year because apparently you have to be a baby boomer to get a seat in the dining area”.

s4172249

Jetstar Airways - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 18 Feb 2018

Total posts 30

I've only been in the LHR lounge twice. Both times prior to non QF oneworld flights. Lounge was at maybe 5-10% capacity.
If you're Platinum or F, go to the CX lounge next door at LHR rather then the QF lounge. Nicer lounge, better food.

At SIN, it's hard during the peak period between 5 and 9pm while the bulk of QF flight pax are around. By 9pm, it starts emptying out with only 2 flights left after 2130.
I normally head into the SIN lounge between opening at 1430 and 1700 for a drink, then head over to the BA lounge during the peak QF time, before heading back to QF once the peak starts to drop.

I think that should be the status quo for Qantas - direct it's Plats and First pax to Cathay First lounge at Heathrow.

Hopefully the Singapore situation improves later in the year once the F lounge opens.

All my experiences in these lounges have been pleasant. Though I'm not flying first and hence my expectations are lower.


I agree. They should make arrangements with CX and explicitly redirect at check in / bag drop to avoid the inevitable passive aggressive conversation with the staff at the other Oneworld lounge.

It’s a pain point for customers to have to engage in the same conversation along the following lines every time they fly from LHR and try to use the CX lounge:

“Sir/Madam, do you realise that there’s actually a Qantas Lounge - why don’t you go there?”

“Well actually I’m entitled to use this lounge based on my OWE status and TBH the Qantas Lounge sucks because it’s full of Bundy swilling QC members and I can’t get meal there even though I do 6 J SYD-LHR fares a year because apparently you have to be a baby boomer to get a seat in the dining area”.

You seem quite obsessed with both Qantas Club members and people who drink Bundaberg rum, having disparaged both on multiple threads. QC members have every right to access the Qantas lounge in London and in Singapore (as you’ve suggested otherwise in alternate conversations). It’s not difficult to have a ten second conversation with Cathay lounge staff in London if you wish to use that lounge, I’ve done it myself just recently. Seriously, get a grip.

Clancy

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 31 Jan 2016

Total posts 50

LHR lounges: QF very good, great service and facilities. CX lounge both F & J, not as good (sorry if you rate it highly), BA all lounges = best avoided...

SIN QF lounge very busy and overrated, so depending on how efficient the ground crew are go for a walk. If you are on QF1/2 and flying in F or J, you probably need the walk anyway... ;)

patrickk

Qantas

Member since 19 Apr 2012

Total posts 402

I just spent some time in both. The QF lounge first. The stodgy ‘English’ bfast was all that was on offer even at midday. So gave up on food. Then sent back from the gate due to a two hour flight delay (closed Iranian airspace clogging up the fight corridors) so went back to CX first for a lovely duck salad a plate of wantons etc and some fish n chips. Much better than QF!!

reeves35

Member since 24 Aug 2011

Total posts 51

Both lounges are just OK. The SIN lounge is noisy and crowded with abrupt staff who rarely make you feel welcome. LHR feels cluttered; unfortunately the architect concepts made it look a whole lot better than it actually is. It probaly is the wrong way around and would've worked better if main dining area was upstairs with lounge area downstairs. I agree HKG is the most outstanding, lots of natural light, really friendly staff, great food.

heathcor

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 14 Oct 2012

Total posts 20

Was passing the new area that is to be the First Lounge recently in Singapore and it's boarded up with a picture of what the new lounge would look like and wording "The new Qantas First Lounge is coming soon". It looks quite appealing... I then got nosy and looked through a small gap in a side entrance and all that is in the area is a vacant space... nothing but bare floors and exposed ceilings... I'll be very surprised if it's up and running soon. But I guess at least it's cleared and on the way...

Davidz

Member since 06 Apr 2019

Total posts 5

Flew QF2 LHR-SIN-SYD August 1st. LHR lounge was very good and the staff there were friendly and helpful. My story of getting in there on my KEF-LHR connection is posted elsewhere . The LHR lounge did get crowded nearer the flight. SIN lounge was pretty bad in my view. Busy, Noisy, Not the haven lounges are meant to be. If I was First class I'd be pretty annoyed at having a few chairs and tables with a reserved sign and not much else. It is appropriate that there be a seperate area. . SIN staff were not friendly, nor smiling but that's probably as it was massively overcrowded. We were unable to connect to internet (too many users maybe?). It seems to me that Qantas and others are trying to offer some services as an attraction but aren't delivering on the expectation. As a paying Business passenger I was OK with LHR but badly let down by SIN.

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Qantas London and Singapore lounges - your opinion?

Attach Files