[Opinion-seeking] Do you actively avoid turboprop equipment on your flights?

15 replies

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,285

[Opinion-seeking] Do you actively avoid turboprop equipment on your flights? If so, why?

074061

Cathay Pacific - Asia Miles

Member since 25 Apr 2013

Total posts 262

Nope, the only reason I've never flown one is that I haven't had a chance to yet.

driley28

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 07 May 2012

Total posts 299

If there is jet operating on that route that I will avoid the turboprop.

watson374

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 17 Aug 2012

Total posts 1,285

Is there a reason, or do you just not like them?

Ksmith

Member since 05 Sep 2011

Total posts 28

Depends on the airline, many offer a lower level of service on their turboprops than on their mainline jets, so the jets are a better option.

Also depends on the aircraft. For example Dash 8s have less luggage space, less headroom, and in window seats less foot space due to the curve of the fusulage, than say A320s, B737s, or E170-195s. They are also noisier if you are sat near the props, and vibrate slightly for the entire flight due to the props. In these cases I would prefer the larger jets. But if the alternative is a small jet like CRJs or ERJs, these are just as cramped and even noisier if you are sat near the engines.

TheRealBabushka

Member since 21 Apr 2012

Total posts 2,059

I love a turboprop across the Cooks Strait to Wellington. What a thrill ride!

driley28

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 07 May 2012

Total posts 299

I only fly QF.  I find the service on mainline better than QF link Q400 especially if I need to go to ADL, CBR or HBA. It is mainly around comfort level of the seating, pitch and the ability to take 2 carry on's on mainline.  In saying that I do fly on the Q400's if I need to go to LST, CFS, GET and other regional destinations.

Merc25

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 29 Jun 2013

Total posts 317

Turbo prop planes are used mainly to small towns and the out back mining towns,they are noisy but adventurous.air New Zealand uses them to regional town's,as does Qantas 

charlieg

QantasFF Platinum

Member since 16 Feb 2012

Total posts 133

Actively avoid? If you have the option, the answer is absolutely! Turbo props cannot connect to aero-bridge and boarding / deboarding times can vary greatly. Also the fact smaller carry-on baggage cannot fit in the cabin so priority tags are recommended, but on tight connection, its preferable to have your baggage with you.

eminere

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 25 Sep 2013

Total posts 371

The Fokker 50 was my all-time favourite turboprop. Sad to see it go. 

F8

Member since 04 Sep 2012

Total posts 70

Did you ever get to fly in a Shorts 330?  (The "Flying Wardrobe") They were classics!

eminere

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 25 Sep 2013

Total posts 371

Nope, just the F50 within Malaysia. This was back in the day when the operating airline didn't assign seats so it was first in first served - cue this enthusiast lining up first at the gate then racing across the tarmac to snatch the first row window seat next to the propeller!

Really

Member since 02 Jan 2013

Total posts 54

Many moons ago sat in the jumpseat from Dubbo to Sydney in a Shorts.Sensational!That was in the good ol days when you could visit the flightdeck!

eminere

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 25 Sep 2013

Total posts 371

Nice!  On my recent hop from SYD to AKL on Emirates's A380 the captain invited us to visit the flight deck before disembarking - that was a pretty cool moment.

robbi

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 16 Aug 2013

Total posts 5

I have flown Dash-8's several times from ADL-MEL and had no issues with them sitting in my window seat next to the engine. I have never noticed space issues but I only ever carry 1 checked-in suitcase and a backpack that fits under the seat. 

Level of customer service didn't seem appreciably worse than jet and didn't bother me. 

I like that there is only 1 person next to me and there is a better view of the land below.

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on [Opinion-seeking] Do you actively avoid turboprop equipment on your flights?

Attach Files