Thai's Airbus A380 routes: HK, Singapore, Frankfurt, Tokyo, Osaka, Paris, Sydney & London

By David Flynn, September 27 2012

Wondering when you can fly Thai Airways' new Airbus A380?

With six superjumbos on the shopping list there'll be just a handful of select destinations: Hong Kong, Singapore, Frankfurt, Tokyo, Paris, Osaka and Sydney.

According to Thai's final A380 schedule – released today at the airline's A380 delivery event in Airbus HQ at Toulose, France – the A380 will shuttle back and forth from Bangkok to Hong Kong and Singapore on daily runs from October 6 to December 14.

These short-term bedding-in flights are fairly standard practice for airlines while they train up their crew on all-new planes.

From December 15 the A380 will strut its stuff on the first long-haul route with daily flights between Bangkok and Frankfurt (TG920/921), with the Singapore and Hong Kong services going back to smaller aircraft.

As of  January 16, 2013, Tokyo's Narita airport will be added to the daily list (TG676/677), with Paris-Charles de Gaulle following from February 16 (TG930/931).

Osaka is next on that list, starting on August 16 (TG622/623), while Sydney will follow on September 16 (TG475/476).

London is also on the cards, says Thai Airways, with its sixth and final A380 slated for a daily service between Heathrow and Bangkok from October.

Thai's A380 will carry 507 passengers in first, business and economy class.

Business class is the big winner here, with fully lie-flat seats and a staggered 1-2-1 layout so that every passenger has direct access to the aisle.

Read: our detailed review of Thai Airways' A380 business class, and check out the photo tour of Thai's A380.

For the latest news for business travellers and frequent flyers, follow us on Twitter: we're @AusBT.


David Flynn

David Flynn is the Editor-in-Chief of Executive Traveller and a bit of a travel tragic with a weakness for good coffee, shopping and lychee martinis.

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Thai's Airbus A380 routes: HK, Singapore, Frankfurt, Tokyo, Osaka, Paris, Sydney & London