Velocity Frequent Flyer membership 'review date': how does it work?

6 replies

leahcimabi

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 08 Jul 2017

Total posts 29

Morning all.

My wife has to get a further 20 status  credits to upgrade to Gold (before November). We have a local trip booked in early Sept that will get her over the line (with 90 status credits). And then an O/S trip booked in October. The Q is - one she hits the magic mark, does this then start a new review date? Do 70 of the 90 status credits go toward maintaining next years goal of 400 credits? And because the O/S trip is before the review date, will they also go toward the 400 credits required to maintain the gold?
Thanks 

mcglynp

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 20 Jan 2016

Total posts 47

The first leg of your domestic trip that puts you over the top will reset the review date, assuming you have done enough actual VA trips. All subsequent credits go towards retaining.    Just keep an eye on how long it is taking for flights to to turn up in your activity statement.

readosunnycoast

Member since 05 Oct 2011

Total posts 114

Are you certain of that?  I was under the impression that you only started accumulating once your "new year" had commenced (which is your anniversary date). If for example you earned say 2900 SC in one year, it would not automatically qualify you for the next three years.

leahcimabi

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 08 Jul 2017

Total posts 29

Wouldn't have thought that it would qualify you for the next three years, but should qualify you for the following year!?

brinkers

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

Member since 16 Jun 2011

Total posts 226

If your wife is currently silver, then when 20 Status Credits lands to push her to Gold, you will move up to gold, and your year to renew gold will begin (so, you get a new renew date)

Which of the 90 Status Credits will apply to the new year will depend somewhat on the flight dates and earnings of the various flights that make up that 90. Keep in mind that they calculate upgrades to levels on a day by day basis, things don't move up levels in the middle of the day.

The October trip will be in the new year, so these will count toward renew of Gold (remembering you will have a new review date for Gold, the old Silver one will no longer be relevant)


Tom-125

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

Member since 13 Nov 2015

Total posts 13

Some of these posts aren't quite right I don't think. 


Status is determined daily using status credits earned in the previous 12 months. You need 500 SCs to earn Gold for the first time, 400 to maintain it, and 1000 to move from Gold to Platinum. The review date is only relevant for retaining status, not achieving the next level (until you get to Platinum).


As an example, with your wife's example and assuming:

- Your local trip is made up of two sectors of 45 SC each, with the outbound trip on 5 Sept

she has 480 status credits in the 12 months to 4 Sept, all of which earned from 1 Jan to 4 Sept.


then:

- On the 5th Sept she earns 45 SC, bringing her to 525 and triggering Gold

- Her new review date will be 6th Sept 2018, and she must earn 400 SC in the 12 months prior to retain gold. The extra 25 (45 from the flight less the 20 needed) are not counted towards this as they are 12 months + 1 day. However the return trip for 45, and the overseas trip will be counted.

- Each night they assess her for platinum. Because I've assumed that all her status credits were earned after 1 Jan, she has until 31 Dec to earn 1,000 and reach Platinum. This will include the 480 she has already, the 90 from the local trip, and all SC associated with the overseas trip.


It is based on the date flown, not the date processed. I've sailed close to the wind before and the system didn't calculate it properly as it was on a partner airline that took a while to come through, however a polite email to the support team fixed it for me.


You also need to get all 8 VA sectors in before (or as) you trigger the next level, otherwise you end up with "lost" status credits when it comes to assessing the retention year (but not for moving up a level).






Last editedby Tom-125 at Jul 27, 2017, 07:37 PM.

Stanners275

Member since 10 May 2017

Total posts 1

Hi Folks,

I thought I'd share a recent experience in trying to get Velocity to confirm whether travel on a review date counts towards maintaining FF status.

[Summary: Any travel on your review date counts towards the new benefit period, so you need to have completed any travel before your review date]

I'm Gold FF status with a review date of 2 January. In trying to figure out if I need to complete whatever flying I needed to do to keep Gold status before 2 January or whether travel on that day counted, I spoke to two different people from Velocity, neither of which gave me a very convincing answer, so I emailed velocity as follows (to [email protected] - an email address that isn't published anywhere, except on forums like this):

"To whom it may concern,

My review date for Gold FF status is 2 January and I want to be absolutely sure that if I travel on that day it will count towards maintaining my status.

The Velocity T’s & C’s provide:

22.5 Status Credits Required to Maintain a Membership Level

On each Review Date, if the total number of Status Credits earned and Eligible Sectors flown during the previous 365 days meets the criteria in clause 22.1.4 to maintain a Member’s current Membership Level, then they will maintain that Membership Level for the Benefit Period after the Review Date.

The phrase “during the previous 365 days” suggests that travel on the review date does not count.

22.6 Downgrading a Membership Level

22.6.1 If the total number of Status Credits earned and Eligible Sectors flown at a Member’s Review Date does not meet the criteria in clause 22.1.4 to maintain their current Membership Level, then the Member’s Membership Level will be downgraded to the Membership Level below their current Membership Level.

The phrase “at a Member’s Review Date” in this clause suggests that travel on the review date does count. In my view, the two clauses are inconsistent. I would be grateful if you could confirm in writing whether travel on a review date counts towards maintaining status."


I received the following reply:

"Thank you for contacting us about Velocitys terms and condition.
Please know that activities taken on the day of your review date will be counted or added towards the new benefit period. The same reason why we suggests to our members to earn the required Status Credits and Eligible Sectors before the review date."

Apart from the fact that the English was pretty poor, and the email did not directly address the conflict between the two clauses of the T's & C's, the answer seems to confirm that clause 22.5 is what counts, and on your review date "Status Credits earned and Eligible Sectors flown during the previous 365 days" is what counts.

Cheers

LS

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Velocity Frequent Flyer membership 'review date': how does it work?

Attach Files