Preview: Air New Zealand, Sports Illustrated swimsuit safety video

By David Flynn , February 7 2014
Preview: Air New Zealand, Sports Illustrated swimsuit safety video

Air New Zealand has partnered with Sports Illustrated to produce the latest in its line of eye-catchingly different safety videos.

And eye-catching might be just the word for 'Safety in Paradise', which features swimsuited supermodels – including Australia's own Jessica Gomes – plus a special guest appearance by original Sports Illustrated favourite Christie Brinkley.

"We were able to create a raucous safety video in the true spirit of SI Swimsuit and our Kiwi friends,” says Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Editor Ms MJ Day.

Supermodel Christie Brinkley says it was a privilege to be asked to appear in Safety in Paradise.

"The playful script contains a lot of unexpected moments for a safety video" Brinkley comments, adding that "it features so many SI beauties celebrating SI’s 50th anniversary of the swimsuit edition, that it may even have folks on the ground reaching for their oxygen masks!"

The video is expected to begin screening on Air New Zealand flights later this month, but here's a 'behind the scenes' sneak peek at what's in store.

While some detractors complain that safety should be taken seriously, the airline says that making videos which people want to watch is the key here – along with a bit of viral promotion for the airline's brand, of course.

"As a small airline at the bottom of the world, we have to think outside the square when it comes to driving brand awareness and conveying important safety messages to our millions of customers" reasons Jodi Williams, Air New Zealand's Head of Global Brand Development.

And Air New Zealand has plenty of form when it comes to quirky safety videos. Here's a rundown of their most recent efforts.

Safety Old School Style

Starring US actress Betty White, often lauded as "America’s sweetheart" and best known for her roles on The Golden Girls and The Mary Tyler Moore Show.

Set in the fictional Second Wind Retirement Resort, the 'Safety Old School Style' clip also features a cameo by Gavin MacLeod – famous for his role as Captain Stubing on The Love Boat as well as Betty’s former Mary Tyler Moore Show co-star – among a cast of 'golden oldies'.

The Bear Essentials of Safety

Man vs Wild presenter Bear Grylls finds novel ways to guide travellers through the mandatory safety steps.

This was filmed in a remote part of the Routeburn Track near Fiordland in New Zealand’s South Island, making this perhaps the world's first airline safety video shot entirely outdoors!

An Unexpected Briefing

Produced as part of a marketing tie-up with Peter Jackson's The Hobbit movies it's a great watch – whether you're going on an Unexpected Journey or just doing your regular commute There and Back Again.

Line-drawn celebrity-loaded animation

A cherry animated cartoon voiced by Kiwi actress Melanie Lynskey and Ed O'Neill of Modern Family and Married With Children fame.

The Bare Essentials of Safety

In which Air New Zealand staff swap their uniforms for body paint.

Crazy About Rugby

That title says it all, really...

Disco-safety with Richard Simmons

Click this one at your peril.

Follow Australian Business Traveller on Twitter: we're @AusBT

David

David Flynn is the Editor-in-Chief of Executive Traveller and a bit of a travel tragic with a weakness for good coffee, shopping and lychee martinis.

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

25 Sep 2013

Total posts 1227

Because only hot blooded straight men fly NZ.

AlG
AlG

04 Nov 2010

Total posts 674

Because most travellers are male (fact), most men are straight (fact) and when given a choice, most males appreciate pretty women (oh yes, fact fact fact!).

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

17 Aug 2012

Total posts 2223

By this logic, Asiana Airlines would have hired out a KPop girl group like SNSD or Sistar to do such a video to grab the attention of all the Asian salarymen.

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

25 Sep 2013

Total posts 1227

Oh go fact yourself, Al.

20 Feb 2012

Total posts 128

Al is actually correct...

besides whereas other organisations used speedo clad men as well- wonder why people don't complain then?

femnists are just uber sensitive , if a woman gets emotionally/mentally affected by this she has a lot of problems that need ot be addressed.

also again this is in fact insulting to men if targeting men is Air NZ's objective but note how  no one complains- cause we don't really care and are not that easily affected.

01 Feb 2012

Total posts 370

Mathematically this is illogical. 

Just because you have 3 numbers greater than 0.50 does not imply that the multiplication of the 3 will still be greater than 0.50. (Even if majority ruled in such matters, which it certainly does not).

So even if the majority of travellers are male, majority of males are into women, and majority of such men are attracted to such ads, it is likely only a minority of travellers will appreciate these ads. More importantly if you upset the 0.0001% (i.e. a few feminists) you're stuffed. 

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

17 Aug 2012

Total posts 2223

"More importantly if you upset the 0.0001% (i.e. a few feminists) you're stuffed."

You are my new hero.

Mal
Mal

14 Jun 2013

Total posts 360

I think this one is going to be very controversial for Air New Zealand!

undertheradar Banned
undertheradar Banned

28 Oct 2011

Total posts 662

it achieves its objective...PUBLICITY FOR AIRNZ

02 Jan 2013

Total posts 142

Absolutely engaging! Well Done AirNZ once again!

15 Dec 2013

Total posts 43

I only watched for the safety information.

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

07 Feb 2014

Total posts 2

This is how you alienate half of your market and display a lack of creativy. 

15 Dec 2013

Total posts 43

Oh please.

Not all women hate models.

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

07 Feb 2014

Total posts 2

I assume women don't hate models. This is just an example of the female view not being catered for. The airline is sending a message to women they are invisible ticket holder and payers. It  is basic market neglect. 

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

25 Sep 2013

Total posts 1227

Exactly. I think it'd be a long time coming before an airline produces a safety video featuring Speedo-clad muscle men.  This new video is so blatantly geared towards men I can't imagine a female passenger watching it and not rolling her eyes.

15 Dec 2013

Total posts 43

What if I told you that you haven't even seen the video.

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

25 Sep 2013

Total posts 1227

I would say you're an idiot.

15 Dec 2013

Total posts 43

What a sad person you must be.

Air New Zealand - Airpoints

04 Sep 2012

Total posts 136

I think this is brilliant. Firstly it will go viral so achieves publicity for NZ. Secondly every other airline is to conservative to pull this off. Ha! it cracks me up all these grumpy posts on here. #toys out of cot

09 Sep 2012

Total posts 140

Another reason to avoid the airline.

20 Feb 2012

Total posts 128

numerous passengers dislike the Hobbit/ Betty White

I suppose that also comes as "Market Neglect" 

also any stat will show you that more men fly.. although if anything Air NZ has a low view of men if they think men will fly them for this...

20 Feb 2012

Total posts 128

also note that women have created this campaign...

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

20 Nov 2012

Total posts 68

I'm expecting a Victoria Secret Angels Safety Video coming out soon.

The airline that seals that deal will get the kudos.

The key - is to have a number of extended versions which is only shown on-board, so people will choose (convenience permitting) to fly that airlines to have a peek.

Airlines have that captive market.

Curiosity killed the cat (people will want to know) - and if it is leaked (and it will), then it becomes even more viral.

Steve


Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Preview: Air New Zealand, Sports Illustrated swimsuit safety video