Review: Qantas Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner business class seat

By David Flynn, October 23 2017

Australian Business Traveller joined the very first flight of the Qantas Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner, fresh from the Boeing factory at Seattle all the way to Sydney, to bring you this first review of Qantas' flagship business class seat on the newest member of the Flying Kangaroo's fleet.

For many of our readers this is the seat they'll travel in on routes to the USA and of course on the epic 17 hour non-stop journey from Perth to London.

The comfortable well-appointed seat boasts ample personal space, a recline mode for take-off and landing, and of course converts into a fully flat bed to help put the 'dream' into Dreamliner.

Qantas' designer David Caon (below) has taken the superb 'Business Suite' design of the Qantas Airbus A330s – a seat initially shaped by Marc Newson from Thompson Aero's Vantage XL platform – and made it even better.

The key improvement: a sliding divider sits between the paired middle seats, similar to that on the Qantas Airbus A380 superjumbo, compared to the fixed wall between those seats on the A330 (as seen below).

Push it down if you want to be sociable with your seatmate...

... or raise it for privacy.

Pretty much everything else remains the same as on the A330 Business Suite, but wrapped in a more contemporary toned-down colour scheme.

Darker woodgrain panelling, a softer brushed aluminium trim and the charcoal seat fabric subtly shot through with grey and navy all contribute to a more refined, more natural and undeniably more 'premium' look.

The rest of the Qantas Business Suite recipe remains pleasingly the same, starting of course with direct aisle access for every passenger – there's no clambering over your neighbour (or having them do likewise to you).

The seat itself is wide and comfortable; can be partially reclined during the taxi, take-off and landing stages of your Boeing 787 flight...

... and of course converts to a 2 metre lie-flat bed.

The extended seat shell provides a perfect balance between privacy and accessibility...

... while a Do Not Disturb light lets the cabin crew know you want to remain in the land of nod rather than be woken for meals.

But with regards to stretching out: as with the A330 business suite, the front rows of each of the two business class cabins (aisles 1A and, 1K, middles 2E and 2F plus any seat in row 10) are best for legroom and especially recommended for tall travellers and those with large feet, thanks to a larger recess pushing into the bulkhead wall.

This affords much more room for your feet than the other seats, which dovetail into the seat in front of them and thus have a smaller cubby.

And on the subject of seats to seek vs seats to avoid: if you crave a view, steer clear of seats 5A and 5K – these are located at a point in the fuselage where there's no window directly next to you.

Regardless of which Boeing 787-9 business class seat you find yourself in, there's ample room to spread out your work and also keep your personal stuff within reach.

AC, USB and headphone sockets are right where they need to be...

... and this recessed shelf lets you park your tech to recharge during the flight so it's at hand while out of the way.

Plenty of entertainment options are parked behind the generous 16 inch video screen with its modern tap-and-swipe interface (the same content and interface features in the Boeing 787's premium economy and economy classes).

There's also a self-serve refreshment bar nestled between the two business class cabins...

... although it looks much better when packed with snacks!

Also read: AusBT reviews the Qantas Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner premium economy seat

David Flynn travelled on the Qantas Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner delivery flight from Seattle to Sydney as a guest of Qantas.

David

David Flynn is the Editor-in-Chief of Executive Traveller and a bit of a travel tragic with a weakness for good coffee, shopping and lychee martinis.

Sula

Sula

07 Jun 2016

Total posts 29

Is it in any way obvious where the extra 9 inches of cabin width compared to the A330 have been added to the seats? Seat width, wider side tables, wider foot cubbies? I’d hate to think that all that extra width was wasted by not changing the airbus seat design.

elchriss0

elchriss0

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

13 Jan 2015

Total posts 581

id prefer to have the extra width put into the seat to provide that little extra when laid down

Kiwirailengr

Kiwirailengr

10 Apr 2015

Total posts 9

According to Seatguru, width of 787 seat is 23~24" and that on the A330 is 21.5" so some 6~10" increase across the 4 seats....

sra35

sra35

QF

02 Oct 2012

Total posts 38

I’m interested to know if the second small business class section has any drawbacks compared to the larger forward section? I wonder if there is foot traffic from premium economy walking forward using the J class bathrooms, extra noise from premium Y and even noise form the galley and bathrooms. I’m booked to fly on the 787 soon and my current FF status only allows me access to this small section and the last row of the forward section

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

In the second business class cabin you can expect foot traffic from premium economy flyers heading to and from the lavs, as well as noise from the galley at the front of the business class cabin and perhaps noise from the premium economy cabin behind you.

ChickenorBeef

ChickenorBeef

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

21 Jun 2017

Total posts 26

Best 787 business class? Sure, subject to opinion but Qatar has on demand dining, larger screens, equally as long / even slightly longer seat, better toilet /seat ratio oh and wifi. I get the mixed views on wifi on planes, but seriously, how could you not offer it in a newly minted plane? (Ok.... that was ordered about the time Noah finished the ark). Disappointingly “gushy” post from a guy I respect and clearly drinking qantas marketing cool aid. But a big free trip to the US makes it tough to be negative, right? Won’t get that invite next time!! Its the A330 chair with a moveable divider (gasp) and a new colour. Yawn. Want to be impartial? Even your freebie out by donating a business class airfare to the us, out of your pocket, to a kid with cancer. Then we might take your reviews as serious journalism.

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

Read again: "best business class seat", because that's all we are rating – the seat, not the overall travel experience. I judge this seat to be better than the Boeing 787 business class seat of Qatar or Etihad, to name two leaders in the Dreamliner business class stakes. The overall business class experience (including availability of WiFi, an extensive dine-on-demand menu etc) between those airlines is a different matter.

ChickenorBeef

ChickenorBeef

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

21 Jun 2017

Total posts 26

Maybe be a bit clearer in the enormous heading then and how it posts on social media? We’re all entitled to an opinion.... if it’s better, how about a comparison article then? They’re good articles...

Ryan K

Ryan K

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

30 May 2013

Total posts 303

Go be fair, your heading doesn’t even mention ‘seat’, it’s says ‘Qantas Boeing 787-9 Business Class.’

kabe100

kabe100

30 Aug 2017

Total posts 35

" I judge this seat to be better than the Boeing 787 business class seat of Qatar or Etihad, to name two leaders in the Dreamliner business class stakes. "

Both Qatar and Etihad have got 1-2-1 configuration. But some airlines like AirNZ have got 1-1-1 config in Business which make it more spacious. Can you compare QF to NZ?

Kiwirailengr

Kiwirailengr

10 Apr 2015

Total posts 9

Having sampled the QF seat in the A330 and NZ 787 J class seat, I'll go QF....

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

Kabe100: we won't be running an article comparing the Qantas and AirNZ Boeing 787-9 business class seats because they won't fly the same route, so there's no practical purpose served by such a comparo – it's not as if a business traveller can choose the QF or NZ Dreamliner flying from A to B.

Rav

Rav

18 Aug 2017

Total posts 40

David, wont the Dreamliner go to LA the same as the AirNZ , just direct from Aus and through NZ for AirNZ??????

aggie57

aggie57

QF

04 Apr 2014

Total posts 152

Actually David for those of us who travel between the US and both Australia and NZ this is a very valid comparison. I'll start off by saying the AirNZ experience is OK if you're less than 6'. Otherwise the seat is too narrow and your feet stick out into the aisle.

andyf

andyf

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

07 Dec 2014

Total posts 122

Just my 2 cents, but the Air NZ 787 seats with their aisle facing design are so exposed (even for those seats fortunate enough to face a wall).

And even though they're 1-1-1, they're on a heavy angle with a 22" width; which is less than these Qantas seats.

Bob Burgess

Bob Burgess

13 Sep 2016

Total posts 184

Jeez some people are quick to jump in with the vitriol and go into 'attack' mode!

Bob Burgess

Bob Burgess

13 Sep 2016

Total posts 184

Can't understand this. Most people agree how great the A330 business class is, and it's clearly been improved on the Boeing 787 with the drop-down divider between the seats which obviously makes it 'better'. David is the only one here who has experienced the seat, so what's the beef with his report? That he wads a guest of Qantas on the delivery flight, just as AusBT should be? I think there's a bit of jealousy out there!

grumpytravel

grumpytravel

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

12 Jun 2016

Total posts 40

Excellent post,excellent!

John Phelan

John Phelan

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

28 Oct 2011

Total posts 322

What a hero - makes snide remarks about the author, but doesn't even have the guts to put his/her own real name on the bile.

JJJJJJJ

JJJJJJJ

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

18 Feb 2017

Total posts 25

ChickenorBeef there's no need to be aggressive about it. Perhaps the bias is all yours? David has presented a reasonably informative article, and has declared that he was on the Seattle-SYD voyage.

In answer to your namesake question... you clearly have beef.

DanielW

DanielW

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

24 Apr 2014

Total posts 2

The only time I have seen the snack bars stocked so extensively is in promo photos or delivery flights. All my in flight experiences have had a couple of items such as bottled water and pretzels only

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

The A380 snack bars are usually well-provisioned and we're told the Boeing 787 ones will be likewise, although the selection on this one was definitely a 'delivery flight special' (lamingtons and Caramello Koalas, yum!). The photo is meant to show only what it's like when stocked – as the unadorned pic of the bar is pretty sterile and makes it hard to 'get' how it'll look in flight – not to indicate the actual items you'll see on Melbourne to Los Angeles or Perth to London, for example.

mviy

mviy

05 May 2016

Total posts 527

No self-serve cabinet with soft drink?

silvyvc

silvyvc

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

19 Jun 2017

Total posts 41

David, thanks for your great review. I really appreciate this as my fiance and I are going to try this prior our wedding next September. I have to say even when being in economy on the A380, the snack bar is our fave place to go. It looks like Qantas has listened to their customers and have done good improvements with this seat.
Would you still suggest that for a good sleep, middle cabin seats (between rows 4 and 6) are the best?

Ryan K

Ryan K

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

30 May 2013

Total posts 303

The snack bar on the JFK-LAX 747 service last week was empty the whole flight! First world problem, granted.

xtfer

xtfer

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

14 Mar 2017

Total posts 127

To be fair, Virgin's Premium Economy has a snack bar this good, and their Business class has the entire bar...

Ryan K

Ryan K

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

30 May 2013

Total posts 303

Gotta day, after all the wining and dining, I was kind of expecting a story like this...

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

Ryan: so were you expecting a premium economy review like this?

John Phelan

John Phelan

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

28 Oct 2011

Total posts 322

No, But I suspect he'll say he shamed you into it!!

tommygun

tommygun

Delta Air Lines - SkyMiles

16 Oct 2017

Total posts 88

I know this review is about the seat, but seat/toilet ratio was mentioned by ChickenorBeef as was Qatar so a comment if I may. The ratio on the Qantas 789 for J pax is 1:24 because P/E folks use the same facilities. On the Qatar a350 for J pax it's 1:12 (no P/E). Both calculations disregard the forward of the 3 bathrooms in each aircraft type being sometimes unavailable when used by crew. I'm not arguing that QR business is better all round, but it is better when you want to go.

Jedinak K

Jedinak K

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

06 Sep 2012

Total posts 213

Hi David, will there be a review for premium economy and economy?

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

Yes, over the coming days

Stuart Jackson

Stuart Jackson

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

15 Mar 2015

Total posts 58

ABT you are on drugs! Clearly a bias review influenced by the Qantas freebies afforded you in the last week. Qatar 787 business is by far superior. Just let me quote yourself "Our take: Qantas can confidently boast the world's best Boeing 787 business class seat" I call BS on that!

mitchimus

mitchimus

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

23 Mar 2012

Total posts 209

Why? Have you flown both? No....didn't think so.

Stuart Jackson

Stuart Jackson

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

15 Mar 2015

Total posts 58

I've flown A330 j plenty. Enough to know the addition of a sliding dividers dose not make this the best 787 business in the world! Qatar A 350 380 and 787 are far superior as you would know if you had flown them.

mitchimus

mitchimus

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

23 Mar 2012

Total posts 209

I've flown in both Qatar a380 and the Qantas a330. Both are good but I do like the a330 seat better. All these things are purely poetical preference of course.

mitchimus

mitchimus

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

23 Mar 2012

Total posts 209

** purely personal preference.

Stuart Jackson

Stuart Jackson

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

15 Mar 2015

Total posts 58

Of course its personal preference as is the statement "Our take: Qantas can confidently boast the world's best Boeing 787 business class seat" surely we are all afforded the right to agre or dissag

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

Stuart: no drugs, not even those funny cigarettes which are now legal in Washington State. And no bias, either, as evidenced by my review of the premium economy seat. (As to Qatar's Boeing 787 business class seat, personally I prefer the Qantas business suite, that's all there is to it).

Stuart Jackson

Stuart Jackson

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

15 Mar 2015

Total posts 58

David: that's fine you are entitled to your opinions. I still feel there are two far better 787 seats on the market and to give the tag "best in the world" is a big call.

DownSouth

DownSouth

23 Oct 2014

Total posts 106

That cabin looks bland, no bar, limited toilets, nothing close to best business class on a 787.

daniesut

daniesut

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

15 Sep 2016

Total posts 13

Hmm, best Business Class seat on a 787?!? - Try Etihad 787 Bus, or Qatar - far superior - ive even had a sneak peak at the new Singapore 787-10 Bus suites in real life, Qantas has nothing on these new designs, you would have thought "brand new game changing planes" would have triggered some brand new thoughts on cabin design and seat design, not just a A330 business seat with some darker wood and a adjustable partition screen!?!

ellinikoi

ellinikoi

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

02 Aug 2014

Total posts 1

Thanks David for this insightful review. I had a few questions based on your experience:

1) If you are in row 1 is it noisy from cabin crew / toilets?

2) If you had to choose between 1a and 1k which would be less traffic / noise

3) Are the lie flat beds on a 180 degree angle? or are they tilted?

4) This question might sound a little silly due to cabin class difference but since this business class suite is dubbed as a "mini first" in terms of comfort when turned into a bed which would be a better option the QF A380 first suite or the 787-9 Business class bed?

Thanks

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

1. Wasn't in row 1 and this was not a typical flight so can only suggest that on a commercial flight, as with other front-row seats there could be noise and disruption

2. Probably much of a muchness

3. Fully flat, not inclined

4. 'Mini-first' is Qantas' definition, certainly not mine – all else being equal I'd go for the A380 first class

Alex Moris

Alex Moris

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

10 Jan 2017

Total posts 39

I’ve just lost all respect for ABT... amazing what a fully paid Seattle delivery trip and comes back to write a total biased review. Next review will be the current Qantas A380 business class seats are best in the world.

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

Hi Alex: we always call it as we see it, and a trip to Seattle and delivery flight is no 'big deal' in this business and has zero impact on what I write – my review of the premium economy seat may serve to illustrate that.

John Phelan

John Phelan

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

28 Oct 2011

Total posts 322

Actually, Alex, the next review was about the problems with the PE seat on the 787. Sorry it burst your bubble of envy.

Joe

Joe

03 May 2013

Total posts 387

I wouldn't sit in that tiny cabin for 17 hours in a noisy 787-compared with an A380(or A350).... and having to queue for lavs with PE? Give me a break Qantas; your arrogance shines through again cannibalising premium lavs but at least there is consistency in their 'business class' product with 'enhancing' the J experiencing having to queue for lavs in all their 'business class' cabins to no better than Economy waiting times.. I think thats just pathetic. Another boring colour scheme which makes me think the revamped first on the A380's will be yet again lack lustre. Our Aussie less-is-more obsession is taken to the extreme by Qantas designers. This aircraft is built for the airline in mind primarily with passengers second priority. I think the A380 was a much bigger deal than the 787.

PS - Where is the wifi Qantas its 2018!

brisflyer

brisflyer

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

04 Aug 2016

Total posts 14

I think the seat is great. Direct aisle access for everyone. Recline on take off. Privacy for solo flyers and seats suitable for couples and families. It is great to see Qantas installed the individual air vents which a lot of airlines have moved away from. Although looking at photograph 11, it looks like some seats in the middle are missing the vents?

aussiflyer

aussiflyer

27 Jan 2016

Total posts 53

I got to say the cabin does look great and that seat is definitely world class for Business Class. It offers solo travelers a great product and options for couples in the middle to both have privacy or a bit more intimacy with the sliding divide. The QR seat is also a top notch product but it doesn't necessarily give couples the same experience. I have traveled on EY's 787 in J and it was fantastic though. Once the comparisons of soft product are factored in, it will be interesting to see how they all stack up against each other, but it is awesome to see the hard product up close, brand new! At the end of the day, it is a significant step up from Skybed, and would serve well on these ultra long haul routes. Thanks David.

Michael Kao

Michael Kao

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

06 Nov 2014

Total posts 339

I would also agree with a few comments here that this cannot be the best J seat in a 787. I've been on the QF A330 J a couple of times to NRT and while it's not bad, it shares the same problem with every other staggered seat configuration - too narrow and very little foot space.

IMHO, I think JL's Apex suite on their 787 is far superior than the staggered seat. (Which is also used by Oman air).

J-sh

J-sh

29 Oct 2016

Total posts 35

Interesting observation about staggered layout resulting in seats being too narrow. I did J on ANA from HND to SYD in their B787 staggered configuration and was shocked at how narrow they were, the seat squab being just 20" (just a tad wider than listed on SeatGuru), no wider than the Qantas Y seat on the A380, and lying down had to tuck my arm under the seat belt to stop it falling down against the cold window side!

It also throws light onto why Qantas has gone with the herd on narrowing the seats in Y with 3-3-3. The small size of the 787 has led to narrower seats all round, thank heavens JAL has gone for a more spacious layout in J, dispensed with PE, and 2-4-2 down the back. Will it last?

Overall though not a bad report on the amenity of Qantas J class by Mr Flynn, not overly fawning (just the odd instance as in 'epic' PER-LHR) and he does implicitly acknowledge he is acting as a channel for Qantas PR, so that one can evaluate the report in context.

The toned down color scheme is a pleasing feature, the ANA experience of feeling like one is in a hospital theatre with all their bright very light blue (almost off white) scheme was very off putting, esp as they delayed the one and only meal service until about 2hr:30min into the flight, as one is desperate for flight.

I am looking forward to the Y review.

David

David

24 Oct 2010

Total posts 2336

Hi J-sh:

1. 'epic' PER-LHR in the contest of 'a very long journey', not 'amazing'

2. we will have a photo gallery review of the economy seat but not a stand-alone review article in the same form as this one or as we've done for premium economy

elchriss0

elchriss0

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

13 Jan 2015

Total posts 581

JAL haven't dispensed with W...most of their 787s have W in a 2-3-2 layout but instead with an industry leading 42inch pitch

elchriss0

elchriss0

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

13 Jan 2015

Total posts 581

plus lounge access :)

smit0847

smit0847

30 Aug 2013

Total posts 448

I've flown both the QR and EY 787 J seats recently and both are excellent but I much preferred the EY seat as it is much more private and is certainly the longest J bed I've ever slept in. I certainly thought it was much better than the QF A330 J Suite.

I'm interested to know if there's specific features of the QF 787 seat that make it superior to EY or QR or just an overall sense of preference?

SteveCF

SteveCF

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

15 Aug 2012

Total posts 171

David, thanks for the review. I think the hard product looks great.

The vitriol on this thread is quite amazing. How about everybody cools down and try the product?

AUSBT is allowed and should be invited on these events, especially when it's new aircraft that is going to change how we can travel the world. No other airline is offering direct Europe flights for Australia, so it's a very newsworthy event.

How about everyone try the product with an open mind then share opinions? I think I'll trust the review of the person who's actually tried it.

patrickk

patrickk

Qantas

19 Apr 2012

Total posts 405

It should be noted that on the A380 PE also shares the lavs with Business, but there seems to be fewer arguments, than for the 787. And not sure why the front three are not counted. The crew sitting/working at the back use lavs at the back as well.

Fonga

Fonga

12 Feb 2014

Total posts 228

Be interesting to see a pic of the loos. Anything changed in there?

moa999

moa999

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

02 Jul 2011

Total posts 1378

Believe 12A/K in the mini-cabin also have the window issue, although they aren't directly against the windows due to the stagger.

AT

AT

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

14 Sep 2012

Total posts 259

Fantastic thanks for a great review David. I just flew QF to/from Shanghai on 330 and I have to agree the J seat and service was outstanding.

freedomflyer

freedomflyer

qf

21 Jan 2014

Total posts 5

It does not surprise me all the negative comments QF receive on these type of forums. I am very proud that QF can deliver high standards to the world. Granted, they may not be the best in the sky, debatable, but considering all the financial benefits and lower tax rates, most of their state owned competitors receive, I think QF do a damn good job on the whole. I travel a lot and have the opportunity of being on different carriers, and I am more than happy with QF. I personally believe the new QF J seat is amongst the best. I have experience the J seat on the A330 and I cannot complain. I have experienced other airlines J seats, SQ, CX, EY, EK, UA, all of which I find okay to good, but QF are up their with them and even better, especially compared with SQ. The new premium Y seat, while I have yet to try in flight, I have in fact sat in on the ground, I would be more than happy to travel the world in it. I have read complaints on forums already about the seat. The seat is premium economy, it is not business so, direct aisle access is not necessary, and 38 inches leg room is very nice, again it is economy with more space. Compared to standard economy, it is wonderful and I am looking forward to using it in the future.

Thank you for your report David, and thank you QF.

bsb

bsb

21 Jul 2011

Total posts 70

I’ve done Qatar 787. I prefer the QF seat, even though I’ve only done it on the 330. Qatar service IS hard to beat though, but I am very warm towards Qantas these days.

I also vowed NEVER to fly on QF in those vile 380 J seats again a couple of years ago (never liked them right from version I). QF has missed out on quite a bit of $ from me as a result, but I’ll be on the 787 in May MEL to LAX and can’t wait.

traveller99

traveller99

18 Nov 2015

Total posts 106

Couldn't agree more re the A380 (and 747) J seats. Uncomfortable. No space. Little privacy.

Russjking

Russjking

12 Aug 2017

Total posts 75

Hold on chaps! David hosts a fantastic website for Aussie business class travellers - there is nothing like it anywhere else - and puts a lot of work into it. So I am pleased he got the invite and don't really see any problems with his enthusiastic endorsement of the problem.

traveller99

traveller99

18 Nov 2015

Total posts 106

Very sad there's no wi-fi on this brand new plane. Not sure why Qantas is generally lagging behind so many other full service and budget carriers. It's great to have lots of space to work, for your laptop etc, but it's going to be wasted on many who have nothing to do without wi-fi.

I happily trade off things to fly on an airline that has wi-fi. Booking a reward flight from LHR to JFK, I can fly either BA or AA business class. AA service isn't anywhere near as good as BA. But AA has wi-fi. 7 hours on a plane (during normal business hours) is wasted time for me -- the work doesn't "go away" -- I still have to do it when I land at my destination. Being able to work on the plane is such an advantage.

aggie57

aggie57

QF

04 Apr 2014

Total posts 152

Hey traveller99 - I fly AA pretty often and have given up on their wifi. It's c..p. Slow and unreliable. Don't make a decision on who to fly based on that.....

JJJJJJJ

JJJJJJJ

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

18 Feb 2017

Total posts 25

Isn't that odd, I LOATHE wifi on planes. I don't want to be connected... but then I'm a J class pleasure traveller, I have never flown for business. I will in 2018 - and I still don't see me wanting to email anyone while I'm busy watching the clouds float by...

SteveCF

SteveCF

Virgin Australia - Velocity Rewards

15 Aug 2012

Total posts 171

I agree! Flying is about the only time I have the option to actually switch off.

John Phelan

John Phelan

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

28 Oct 2011

Total posts 322

Me also. I travel for both business and pleasure. I do NOT want emails disturbing me when I'm in the sky. Yes, they will be there for me when I land - and that's quite soon enough, thanks.

Pointsnerd

Pointsnerd

01 Sep 2017

Total posts 4

Thanks David...great review. Very confused that people would suggest that a free flight would make you biased (reallly...a free flight is peanuts). The only issue is that a inaugural flight would have low passenger load, and high service standard. I read that the pt/toilet ratio is 1/24 which sounds terrible. I just flew what is genuinely the worlds best business class (ba 1st) and even 1:7 ratio got a bit tight close to landing.

Addicted2travel

Addicted2travel

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

15 Feb 2017

Total posts 6

Thanks for the great review David. Please ignore all the negative posts - you are calling it as you see it and I for one value your reviews and appreciate the pics you put up.

I do have one question for you : On a long haul flight would you prefer the QF A380 or would you take the Dreamliner given the choice?

gibosity

gibosity

26 Jul 2011

Total posts 8

Having flown in Virgin's 'The Business' class seats 6 times in the last 12 months, I'd be curious to see a comparison? I've been extremely impressed with Virgin's offering, and the photos (yes, I admit photos can only show so much) in this review don't really convince me that Qantas has beaten Virgin here.

Bertair

Bertair

29 Jun 2016

Total posts 7

Nice review David. I am a regular SYD/LAX Business Class flier and recently moved over to Virgin. The Virgin Business Class has far few seats/beds, or whatever everyone calls them and although the Dreamliner changes look good, I see that there are many more of them in the Qantas cabins than Virgin.

Am I correct ?

The Virgin In Flight Bar and relaxation area is welcome, just like that of the 787, although the self serve bar as shown could be open to abuse by some greedy people with no attendant to keep an eye on things.

I reserve judgment until my next flight to LAX.

Maybe with QF on the 787, or Virgin's 777 again.

One thing in Virgin's favour, IMHO, is the smaller Etihad Lounges in SYD & LAX - they never seem to be as crowded as those of Qantas !!

desafinado74

desafinado74

Singapore Airlines - KrisFlyer

02 Dec 2016

Total posts 23

Although i am not a QF flyer, i like reading such reviews. I remembered that ABT was flying ANA's business class from SYD to HND a few months ago. (I could be wrong though) It would be great if a review was written up on that flight.

Axl

Axl

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

18 Mar 2016

Total posts 14

Great review - love the Qantas product both hard and soft - my only gripe is that their classical music selection can’t hold a candle to BA or EK.

Marxx63

Marxx63

Qantas Platinum

04 Dec 2012

Total posts 48

Some people react like they pay subscription to ABT and are dissatisfied with the quality they pay for. But hang on, ABT is free! And reading it is voluntary. If you don’t agree with somebodies opinion that’s OK but to suggest that the reviewer is compromised is quite frankly an insult. From bitter sounding people I might add. What do you expect? That David pays for his ticket and you can read free of charge? I don’t think ABT’s opinion wiuld have been different. Some consider themselves high-flyer elite by the sound of it. Quite surprised they even read ABT with their superior knowledge! In my country we call them vinegar pissers.

DAREng

DAREng

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

18 Jul 2017

Total posts 20

Marxx63, how true your comments. Talking to a hostess friend recently who has moved to the A380, she preferred to service the Y and PE passengers because of the attitude of some of the 'high flyer elite' who make outlandish demands of them.

Traveller14

Traveller14

17 Sep 2015

Total posts 391

It's debatable whether this is the 'best business class seat in the world.'

It's the Thompson (of Ireland) Vantage XL seat, customised for QF's requirements.

Other airlines to use this seat include SAS (which doesn't fly to Oz, but has flights ex Europe to Bangkok and Tokyo so 'combo' fares would be available ex and to Oz) and Philippine Airlines (daily on the Sydney - Manila route, and thrice weekly Melbourne - Manila using A333s, not B789s.) Delta also uses it if I recall, but may not yet have upgraded its B777s that fly to Sydney. There must be others.

Notably Delta and Philippine Airlines usually have cheaper fares than Qantas so despite these others lacking a few minor QF bells and whistles, they could turn out to be much better value than QF's usual astronomical fares for a similar product, priced at the top of the market or extremely close to that point.

One website that compared business class seats said the Apex suites, the common 'reverse herringbones' and the Singapore Airlines business class seats were the best in the world.

Paddy1916

Paddy1916

06 Jan 2017

Total posts 7

Great review, thank you David.

Caractacus

Caractacus

26 Oct 2017

Total posts 1

Very helpful review, thanks.

QF's premium economy product compares especially badly to long-haul Cathay premium economy on the A350, which has more space plus wi-fi. I have really enjoyed Cathay's offering.

cow

cow

25 Aug 2017

Total posts 8

Dining on demand sounds good, except when everyone else is asleep and someone decides to order when everyone else is getting some much needed sleep and gets woken up with cutlery on plate annoying sounds. Serving times should be more discretionary.

icllymy

icllymy

07 Jan 2016

Total posts 2

I agree the seat is certainly good but one thing I found on the A330 is the pull out tray table was not adequately supported given its size and weight, to the point it was a bit slanted towards the side away from the hinges. Hopefully they have fixed this on this seat?

Travelwell

Travelwell

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

26 Oct 2017

Total posts 76

Is it just me? I'm not a big fan of claustrophobia suites in first and now business. Its a funny world when we no longer wish to to look at another Human being with these divider walls. Anyone know that seat pitch in the new Business class as the feet now go into the recess of the forward seat as opposed to the Newson Pods that allow "Can Can" style kicks?

spasquarelli

spasquarelli

Qantas - Qantas Frequent Flyer

15 Aug 2014

Total posts 17

I finally took my first QF9 flight on Thursday and whilst the service, seat, etc was excellent the bed was not 100% fully flat which after the hype and flying Cathay and Emirates was very disappointing. While it is an improvement from the A380 and 747 it would not pass the spirit level test and following 8 hrs sleep I did feel it in my legs. Not sure why they did not get this 100%.

Hi Guest, join in the discussion on Review: Qantas Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner business class seat